A Debtor’s Money Map

1 Income, 1 Map

Legend:

1st Blue: The one that pays me
Bright Dark Pink: :-( The 401k that doesn’t get fed while paying down debt
Khaki Green: $
Purple: The one who dispenses the money to me or where I want alloted
Little Orangy-Orange: $ I put away for the child so she can learn about compound interest.
Grey: is the land of ghosts and demons who drain my energy
Pink-Orange: Annual Expenses (AKA, sinking funds). Basically where the EF is housed. But since funds pay out to bills periodically, I didn’t categorize it as a savings.
Blue: Expenses. If all went to crap, I hope I have my fixed expenses covered.

I KNOW! I don’t contribute to my 401K. While technically I could put away more then the punch that would be felt in Net pay, I made the decision to seize allocation to my 401K until some of the debt is eased up (like the car and C. Loan). I know about the ongoing battle of thought – should I or should I not contribute to my retirement account while paying down down?. The cogs on my 401K wheel will likely start back up end of Spring 2018.

Money Map Logistics

So, work pays me > TAXES > squeeeezzzzzee… Net pay into the checking account.  Tiny bit into a Vanguard account. Then the rest is trickled down into 4 categories:

1) Debt,
2) Sinking Funds,
3) Fixed expenses and
4) Discretionary

Anything remaining is a Snowball. It’s grey like debt because it’s all sourced to the same cause – paying for my past.

And there my friends you have a 1 income debtor’s money map.

This GenXer says, “kids, don’t try this at home”

Paying down $65,000 + of debt is no joke. It’s tiresome. I want to bang my head.

More Money Maps to Check Out!

Abandoned Cubicle

Apathy Ends (anchor)

Atypical Life

Budget on a Stick (anchor)

Cantankerous Life

CY Innovations

Debt to Riches

Eccentric Rich Uncle

Her Money Moves

I Dream of FIRE

Life Zemplified

Luxe Strategist

Making Your Money Matter

Money Metagame

MinaFI

Ms. Adventure Rich

Need 2 Save

Othala Fehu

Our Financial Path

Smile & Conquer

Spills Spot

The Frugal Gene

Trail to FI

The Lady In Black

The Retirement Manifesto

Working Optional

I look forward to updating my Money Map when the 401K contributions start back up and the debt is reduced. Ugh, the end of this year is going to be trying. Least I will have a couple weeks to hide in my cave and hoard All the Ice Cream.

Leave a Comment

29 thoughts on “A Debtor’s Money Map

  1. AdventureRich

    Good luck with the debt pay down! It is frustrating, but keep it up :) Chipping away each paycheck was hugely helpful for us when paying down our debt (and now our mortgage).

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Money Map - OthalaFehu's Personal Net Worth Blog

  3. Pingback: The Working Optional Money Map - Working Optional

  4. Right there with you, friend! No need to hang your head. You’re doing this! You’re making progress! I hear you on 401K. It’s a tough choice. I often go back and forth on the best way to use our “extra” money: sinking funds? Emergency fund? Retirement fund? Throw it all at debt and hope that nothing unexpected happens? These choices are not easy.

    Like

    1. inquiring minds wants to know: do you invest in your 401K? I did for the longest time and still think I should as the net pay is not that big of a difference. Assuming how much you were putting in of course ($225/per paycheck for me). Debt is tough. I repent for my past life of debt! All I want to do is travel now. Grr. *bangs head*

      Like

  5. Pingback: Visualize Your Finances With a Money Map. - CYinnovations

  6. Pingback: The Map To Riches - Debts To Riches

    1. now if I could inflate the size of the orangey thing with some foundation! In time I shall. My child has already earned $0.06 in her new account. First it was $0.02, then $0.03, and now $0.06! She says, “on my way to a millionaire!” Haha. When there is enough in her MM account she will buy her first ETF to compound even more.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Our Money Map | Our Financial Path.

  8. Pingback: The Minafi Money Map - Minafi

  9. Pingback: Her Money Moves' Money Map - Confessions of a Lazy Budgeter - Her Money Moves

  10. Pingback: Strengthen Your Financial Relationship: Money, Information And Trust •

  11. Pingback: My Financial Map: Exactly How I Manage My Money | THE LUXE STRATEGIST

  12. Pingback: The Retirement Manifesto Money Map - The Retirement Manifesto

  13. Pingback: How Complex is your Financial Map? - Apathy Ends

  14. Pingback: Mapping My Money | Smile & Conquer

    1. Thanks Cubert! I am rather hard on myself most times. It’s always a balance for me to be like – hey, I am paying my debt off. We have food on the table, clothes on our backs, and a roof over our head. Stay on track, don’t incur any new debt and we will be okay. – Then be happy with all that and not let it turn into a cruddy disposition realizing all my hard earned money is going to pay off for my past choices.

      We are doing okay.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: The Rich Know Where Their Money Goes! Map Out Your Money - Atypical Life

  16. Pingback: My Exact Financial Account Setup From Checking to Retirement Accounts

  17. Pingback: The Groovy Money Map | Freedom Is Groovy

Leave a Reply

