Five Frugal Things

  1. I bought a parachute buckle and sporting good belting for $7 (had 50% off 1 item) to DIY a hip belt onto my current hydration bag that I use for hiking. Saved me $100 for new hydration bag. I love my current bag, so it was easy to go with the DIY choice.
  2.  

  3. Bonding time with the child means enjoying Peanut Butter shakes at our favorite burger shack. This time around we split our shake and meal. The portions worked out perfectly (why didn’t we start doing this earlier?!)
  4.  

  5. I was in the mood for a scary movie. With Halloween coming up, Netflix & Hulu are stocking up on the scary movie content available. I was able to indulge in the comforts of my own living room. Lights out, sound up, snacks ensured. Silent Hill anyone? (Hides under blanket)
  6.  

  7. Enjoyed having groceries bought and delivered to my door. The service recently became available in my area. So I was given a $20 coupon to use (which basically covers tip & delivery charge). It was so nice avoiding the busy store and I did not have to haul any heavy items into the house. Found out I was offered another $20 coupon. Enjoying free grocery delivery once more. The only downside to this service is that rotisserie chicken or the really good chips they sell in the deli section are not available for shopping.
  8.  

  9. Made Greek chicken, yellow jasmine rice and sauteed purple cabbage. Served up with kalamata olives and tomato-cucumber salad. Had enough leftovers for 2 days of freezer meals

 
What fine frugal things have you been up to? 

Leave a Comment

4 thoughts on “Five Frugal Things

  1. This is the first time I’ve visited your blog. (It looks like we started our blogs at the same time, January 2017!) I love your images, your list of books under the Blogroll, and your description of “faux lifestyle inflation.” FLI is exactly the trap my husband and I fell into, but we were older when we came to our senses. Hooray for you for figuring it out sooner!

    The big attractions at our city’s annual Art Festival and Day in the Park are art (duh!), children’s games, and food vendors. I was a volunteer at the Festival yesterday and packed my own lunch while everyone else bought food from the food trucks. That was my “fine frugal thing” this week!

    I’m looking forward to more of your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Although I feel quite late in figuring this out. The trenches of debt are so taxing. Well welcome. I like your blog too and its focus on PF for the second half. We need more of us and have been lucky to find a few.

      Hey that is great you volunteered. I recently got the volunteer bug so that I could do more of what I wanted and not shell out the dough. It will be nice when my child hits the adult age (really she could stay 5 for the rest of her life and I would love it)… but since we are one of the entertainment capitals of the world, a lot of the cool concerts and events you need to be 18 to volunteer. So it will be fun to do that with her. And hopefully she will still be interested. ;)

      Like

  2. Great job scoring that free grocery shopping service! At this point in my life I’m not sure if I’d actually pay for grocery delivery, but if you can snag a free promo for it, why not? :)

    This week:

    1. I snagged an old tire from a neighbor’s trash pile. I’m currently in the process of converting the tire into a nice meditation tuffet. These typically sell for $40 – $80, but I can make a custom, badass one for about $40 in materials. It would have been cheaper if I hadn’t, y’know, picked up a TRUCK tire instead of a CAR tire. Oops.

    2. I made my Halloween costume solely from thrift store fare. I’m dressing up as a crazy cat lady. :) I bought a robe and sewed plush cats to it and paired it with old slippers and horn-rimmed glasses. Total cost was $20, and I can wear the costume every year. :)

    3. Instead of buying canned beans, we made them from scratch. They just taste better when we cook them, and as a bonus, they’re slightly cheaper.

    4. We bought seeds to start plants for our fall garden.

    5. I used a gift card to treat myself to Starbucks. I normally make coffee at home, but I appreciated being able to have someone else do it for free. :)

    Like

    1. my comment system is all wonky right now. how did you end up in my spam box even though you have left comment before??? saved the comment! ;)

      my thoughts exactly when using a grocery delivery service. i was surprised they gifted me another $20 coupon. Okay! My child doesn’t get why I would use it. Neither does she grocery shop with me. LOL. Okay, she does help me haul groceries in the house. I likely will only use it if I am in a dire time crunch or maybe holidays…

      Google’s tuffet – more tuffet than you bargained for. Does it fit the space? I think its great you are using it for meditation.
      And I LOVE your costume!

      And I’ve always been curious about cost efficiency when cooking one’s own beans. But the flavor is better – that’s worth its weight… or cost. :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

