The $120 Week Grocery Haul + Dinner Menu Plan for 2: M7W1

Groceries for 2 on $120 per week or less – an attempt to eat healthy and stay in budget.

I totally and completely got this post idea from Frugal Stepping Stones. Check out her blog as she feeds a family of 5 on $150 per week!

And I am going to say it front – I FAILED to stay in budget this week. One should not start a budgeted grocery haul on a HOLIDAY weekend. Nor when trying out a New Store.

Trader Joes – $39.80

How did the ice cream end up in there? Trader Joe’s roasted corn is my fave thing. Adds an abundance of flavor when I make buddha bowls. And I use hummus or avocado in place of mayonnaise on my sandwiches.


They have the best mac ‘n cheese, too! DD and I will split one and serve it up with a big side salad or fruit.

WinCo – $101.20

I took the advice of many wealthy people I know and tried out WinCo for my grocery needs. I am in love with their bulk and produce section. Premium honey, pastas, spices, candy… all in bulk. I was majorly impressed.

But I am going to make some produce bags out of old linens I have, because I feel so guilty using all that plastic!


All the berries and beer is for the 4th of July food festivities (approx. $25). So if I took that out, I would have been right in budget. The honey and butter are stock up items. Next week’s budget is likely to be lower.

Let’s see if we can keep the budget in check at month’s end.

Weekly total spent: $141.00

In the change jar: ($21.00)

Monthly Grocery Budget Remaining: $339.00

Dinner Menu Plan

  • Sofritas, black beans, cilantro-lime rice
  • Salmon w/lemon-dill aioli , sesame spinach, brown rice
  • Steak & Veggies Foil Packets (red and yukon potatoes, roasted corn, mushrooms, red bell pepper, carrots), brown rice; Dessert: peach cake
  • Veggie Burgers w/rosemary-sea salt french fries or sweet potato fries
  • Brinner (breakfast for dinner)
  • Spaghetti w/Italian sausage, great big salad.
  • Chicken dinner of some sort.

Ideas for a delicious but simple chicken dinner? Please share.

Comments

9 thoughts on “The $120 Week Grocery Haul + Dinner Menu Plan for 2: M7W1

  1. I love the menu you’ve put together! It looks like you got a great haul from Winco. :) We try to stay within $80 for the week (feed two adults), but I know how tough it is! I think the key is to buy in bulk, reduce the amount of meat you eat, and focus on whole fruits/veggies.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would like to get down to $80/wk for 2. $120 is pretty generous for 2, but I’ve found it’s a good comfort level for me. I love when I do challenges to use up the pantry. Those are times I can get down to $40/wk.

      Thank you for the tips. The meat you see will be divided for 2-3 meals each. Enough to add some flavor.

      Like

  2. Your meal plan for the week looks amazing. If you have the time, it would be great if you could share the recipe(s). Hoping that they’re quick and easy and pretty much only use one pot :)

    Have you ever tried to make hummus? Honestly, it’s really easy. Take a can of beans, reserve some of the liquid it comes in and rinse them in water. “Pop” the skin off the chickpeas (put between your fingers, takes about 15 minutes but kids can help and it makes the hummus way smoother). Add some of the juice (I usually add almost all of it), olive oil, lemon juice, fresh garlic, salt and cumin. I need a recipe for everything else but this. Just keep adding things until you like the taste. I get requests for it every time we go to a pot luck. I buy pita on sale and store in the freezer to take as well. Or, I bake a 3-ingredient, no-knead artisan bread.

    If you have any old t-shirt, you can make produce bags. I’ve made a ton and always get asked to make them for others. Here’s a great tutorial. Skip to 2 minutes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7gmXMTUXiWA

    Looking forward to following you along on your journey

    Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the visit Sarah! Maybe I will share recipes, but usually I throw stuff together. It’s my favorite way to cook. I have gotten pretty good in flavoring with spices. But different every time I cook.

      I have yet to make my own hummus and I love hummus. But I don’t normally eat a lot of anything with chickpeas because my body hates me for it.
      I just tried making my own salsa recently (turned out delicious). Nice smokey flavor. But will need to add more jalapenos next time. I like mine spicy.

      As for receipts, I thought about it, but the print is usually poor quality.

      Thank you for the tutorial link! You don’t find the tshirt fabric to stretchy? that was my concern. I like the stiff & sturdy feel that organic cotton or linen offers.

      Like

  3. Pingback: The $120 Week Grocery Haul + Dinner Menu Plan for 2: M7W2-3 – Stupid Debt

  4. Your menu looks awesome. Trader Joe’s is one of those places I gave up when I started looking at my budget. Not because there aren’t good deals there, but because I can’t control myself there, and make all sorts of impulse buys. Strictly an Aldi girl now.

    Like

    1. Haha! There are so many good things at TJs. I had the same problem, but now I am pretty good about picking up my usual stuff – Pad Thai and their Mac n Cheese – yum!. Also their blueberries, nuts and trail mix. I couldn’t get used to the Aldi by my house, but am way impressed with Winco (aside from bagging my own groceries). I look forward to checking out your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

